You are currently viewing List Of Presidents Of India, List Of Vice Presidents, First President Of India
List Of Presidents Of India

List Of Presidents Of India, List Of Vice Presidents, First President Of India

List Of Presidents Of India: Article 52 of the Indian Constitution states that there shall be a President of India. The president is the nominal head of the government, he acts on the advice of the Prime Minister (Council of Ministers). All the executive action is taken in the name of the President of India. All the MoU signed with any foreign country is in the name of the President of India. The first president of India was Dr. Rajandra Prasad while the current President of India is Shri Ram Nath Kovind. He was elected as the President on 25th July 2017. Let’s have a look at the list of the candidates who have been elected as President so far.

The Constituent Assembly

In 1947, after years of oppressive British rule, our country finally managed to break free of the clutches. 1947, the year of independence, was when the entire nation unified, sweeping itself into a patriotic fold. Thus, began our “tryst with destiny”- a fruitful, yet demanding and slow process.

The Constituent Assembly was formed, and an epic constitution was drafted. The lengthiest constitution in the world, it perfectly reflects the mind-boggling diversity of the country; enshrining the values of justice, liberty, equality, fraternity, and dignity. The Constitution of India was adopted on November 26, 1949, and came into force on January 26, 1950. Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected the first constitutional head of the state, the President of India.

Previous Presidents:

Since 1950, India has had 13 full-time Presidents, the 14th currently serving his tenure (since July 25, 2017). There have been three periods when the nation was headed by an acting President.

The 13th President of India, Pranab Mukherjee completed his presidential term in July 2017. While he was eligible for re-election, Mukherjee didn’t contest. Consequently, on July 25, 2017, Ram Nath Kovind became the 14th President of India, appointed by the Electoral College.

Ram Nath Kovind will end his term this year on July 25, 2022, after completing 5 years in office.

List Of Presidents Of India
Useful Links:

My Bangalore Mart, HP Petrol Pump, Aadhar Card Appointment Online, Scholarship 2022-23, Phone No of Varun Dhawan, Digitize India, A To Z Website Review, Prime Minister of India List.

List of Presidents of India: Important points

President is the constitutional head of the parliamentary system of the government. He is also the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces. He represents the nation but does not rule it. The real power rests with the council of ministers.

President is elected by the electoral college of

(i) Elected members of both houses of the Parliament
(ii) elected members of state legislatures
(iii) elected members of the legislative assemblies of the Delhi and Puducherry (added by the 70th amendment Act, 1992).

Elected for five years but eligible for immediate re-election and can serve any number of terms.

The President can be removed from the post in case it is found that there is any violation of the constitution by the president. This impeachment can be moved in either house of parliament.

The Vice President acts as President in the absence of the President due to death, resignation, impeachment, or other situations if the Vice President’s seat is vacant then the Chief Justice of India acts as the President of India.

Also Read:- Holidays List Of 2022

Presidents of India List

Dr. Rajendra Prasad was the first president of India while Shri Ram Nath Kovind is the present of India. The chronological sequence of the presidents of India is given in the table below. Check all the presidents of India.

NamesStarting DateClosing Date
Dr. Rajendra PrasadJanuary 26th, 1950 May 13th, 1962
Dr. Sarvepalli RadhakrishnanMay 13th, 1962May 13th, 1967
Dr. Zakir HussainMay 13th, 1967May 3rd, 1969
Varahagiri Venkata GiriMay 3rd, 1969July 20th, 1969
Mohammad HidayatullahJuly 20th, 1969August 24th, 1969
Varahagiri Venkata GiriAugust 24th, 1969August 24th, 1974
Fakhruddin Ali AhmedAugust 24th, 1974February 11th, 1977
Basappa Danappa JattiFebruary 11th, 1977July 25th, 1977
Neelam Sanjiva ReddyJuly 25th, 1977July 25th, 1982
Giani Zail SinghJuly 25th, 1982July 25th, 1982
Ramaswamy VenkataramanJuly 25th, 1987July 25th, 1992
Shankar Dayal SharmaJuly 25th, 1992July 25th, 1997
Kocheril Raman NarayananJuly 25th, 1997July 25th, 2002
Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam25th, July 2002July 25th, 2007
Pratibha PatilJuly 25th, 2007July 25th, 2012
Pranab MukherjeeJuly 25th, 2012July 25th, 2017
Shri Ram Nath KovindJuly 25th, 2017Working
List Of Presidents Of India

President of India: Eligibility

List Of Presidents Of India

Article 58 of the Indian Constitution lays down certain conditions for a candidate to be eligible for election to the President. Some of the following are given below:

  • The President must be a citizen of India.
  • President must be above 35 years of age.
  • The President must be eligible for election as a member of the Lok Sabha.
  • The President of India should not hold any office of profit under the State Government, Union, and other local authorities.

Facts about the President of India

Given below are a few facts related to the President of India and the past Presidents who have served the country. Questions based on these facts are commonly asked in the major competitive exams conducted in the country.


  • Dr. Rajendra Prasad was the longest-serving Indian President. He completed two tenures as the President of the country
  • The shortest-serving President was the third Indian President, Zakir Hussain. He passed away while he was in his office
  • Apart from the full-time Presidents mentioned in the table above, there were three interim Presidents. The three of them were: Varahagiri Venkata Giri, Mohammad Hidayatullah and Basappa Danappa Jatti
  • Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was not just the youngest President of the country but was also the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh

Presidents Of India:

  • Pratibha Patil was the first and the only women President of India
  • If the President of India intends to resign from his post, he/she needs to do it in accordance with the procedure prescribed in Article 61 of the Indian Constitution. Presidents need to give a hand-written letter to the Vice President, in case of resignation
  • The President is elected by the members of both the House of Parliament and the elected members of the legislative assembly of States and Union Territories.

More Facts:

  • The President of India is the head of the state and also the Commander-in-Chief of the country’s armed forces. All executive decisions made by the Prime Minister and the government are taken in the name of the President.
  • While many of our presidents have been illustrious achievers with an independent outlook, a number of them have also risen from the political echelons of the country. As the President, however, they have risen above their political inclinations and chosen to function in the best interests of the nation.

In Hindi:

  • भारत का राष्ट्रपति राज्य का प्रमुख होता है और देश के सशस्त्र बलों का कमांडर-इन-चीफ भी होता है। प्रधान मंत्री और सरकार द्वारा किए गए सभी कार्यकारी निर्णय राष्ट्रपति के नाम पर लिए जाते हैं।
  • जबकि हमारे कई राष्ट्रपति स्वतंत्र दृष्टिकोण के साथ शानदार उपलब्धि हासिल करने वाले रहे हैं, उनमें से कई देश के राजनीतिक क्षेत्रों से भी उभरे हैं। राष्ट्रपति के रूप में, हालांकि, वे अपने राजनीतिक झुकाव से ऊपर उठे हैं और राष्ट्र के सर्वोत्तम हित में कार्य करने के लिए चुने गए हैं।

Useful Links:

Scholarship 2022, Mobile Number Location Tracker Online, TTYL Full Form, Mobile Locator, Free Career Guide, Kruti Dev 010 Typing Test, CSC Registration 2022, My Individual Business.

Leave a Reply